Day 3 – Making it through the day

Wednesday: share tips on getting through the hard days! The hard days of recovery or just living with the disorder. Encourage people that it gets better, and give advice to help get them through!

*****

1. Don’t ‘should’ yourself.

I should be happy. I should be better. I should be able to fight my urges. I should be happy that I’m healthy.

Don’t do it to yourself. You don’t have to be anything but who you are in this moment.

3c8aa28395513a7c71af070cd042f1dd

2. Talk yourself up.

Sometimes the bad voices in your head tell you you’re the worst person in the world. You’re not. You’re just a person with some stuff going on. Give yourself a good talking to. You’re not as bad as you think you are.

anigif_optimized-29126-1435862732-19

3. Don’t listen to negative people.

On a bad day a bad comment about your illness can feel like a punch to the chest. Don’t listen. Don’t read the comments. Don’t talk to the people who aren’t going to get it. It might seem like if you’re in recovery then you have to represent your illness to your friends and the public, remove the stigma and fight the battle. You don’t have to. Not every day. Let them and their stigmatising views flow off your back.

zeplinstumblrcom-1421789769

4. Be honest with someone

On a bad day sometimes you need to just tell someone that it’s a bad day. You’re not invincible, and that’s okay.

greys-anatomy-quotes6

5. Do things that give you comfort but aren’t going to hurt you

On a bad day with anorexia the thing I want to do is starve. But I can’t do that. So I need to do things that comfort me but don ‘t hurt me. What are those things?  I want to climb into bed and watch Grey’s anatomy. I want to drink peppermint tea and hug my husband. Do things that give you comfort. Watch your favourite show. Dance with your bezzie.

tumblr_inline_nhmak7hso31qbk0s4

Those are my top tips, over and out.

Leave a Reply

