A changing tone

For those who follow me, it might be strange to notice that I haven’t really been posting much poetry recently. This is because I am focusing mainly on playwriting now, having just finished a play as part of the Chosen Words project – for more details, and my blog about the writing process, follow this link – and working towards a screenplay.

I think this is partly due to the fact that I am becoming more confident in speaking about the things that concern me. Poetry has always been a very immediate response for me to intense emotion; I find it much easier to scrawl down the essence of what I am immediately sensing or feeling than to structure it into sentences or dialogue or themes. But as I move through life, I think I am becoming more comfortable giving these parts of my life and feelings dialogue and form.

Anyway, that’s just a little bit about how my writing might be changing, and about how I might be moving forward. I hope you enjoy my blog about writing drama on the chosen words website, for anyone who cares, I was very pleased with the final play and am looking to find it a future.

Leave a Reply

